Pic

Ad

King's Hobbies and Games supports The Veteran Wargamer!

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Episode 12: Top Faves with Dave Goes to the Movies

Episode 12: Top Faves with Dave Goes to the Movies! with Dave Tubbs is live.

https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/episode-12-top-faves-with-dave-goes-to-the-movies

The Veteran Wargamer is brought to you by Kings Hobbies and Games! http://www.kingshobbiesandgames.com

Special Artizan Service Miniatures Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/groups/535609166648160/?ref=group_browse_new

Discussion on this episode can be found at http://theveteranwargamer.blogspot.com

Other companies we mentioned:
Rogue Stars - https://ospreypublishing.com/rogue-stars

Necromunda - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/3072/necromunda

Warhammer 40,000 2nd Ed - http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2016/03/40k-flashback-2nd-edition-boxed-set.html

Judge Dredd - Warlord Games - http://www.warlordgames.com/judge-dredd/

2000 AD - Foundry - http://www.wargamesfoundry.com/our-ranges/2000ad

Mongoose Games - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/97248/judge-dredd-miniatures-gameem4

eM4 Future Warriors - http://www.em4miniatures.com/acatalog/Future_Skirmish.html

Copplestone Castings Future Wars - http://www.copplestonecastings.co.uk/list.php?cat=1&page=1

BloodBowl - https://www.games-workshop.com/en-US/Blood-Bowl-2016-ENG

Flint and Feather - https://www.cruciblecrush.com/flint-feather/

Shot, Steel and Stone - http://thewargamingcompendium.com

W Britain - https://www.wbritain.com/product-store/clash-of-empires

Commands and Colors: Ancients - https://www.gmtgames.com/c-6-commands-colors-ancients.aspx

Avgvstvs to Avrelian - http://toofatlardies.co.uk/product-category/avgvstvs-to-avrelian/

Jugula - http://www.grippingbeast.co.uk/Jugula.html

Foundry - http://www.wargamesfoundry.com/ancients/imperial-romans & http://www.wargamesfoundry.com/ancients/germans &
http://www.wargamesfoundry.com/ancients/gladiators

Baccus6mm https://www.baccus6mm.com/catalogue/TheRomans/EarlyImperialRome/ & https://www.baccus6mm.com/catalogue/TheRomans/Germans/

Bolt Action - https://us-store.warlordgames.com/collections/bolt-action

Konflikt 47 - https://us-store.warlordgames.com/collections/konflikt-47

Old Glory - http://www.oldgloryminiatures.com/categories.asp?cat=13

Chain of Command - https://toofatlardies.co.uk/product-category/chain-of-command/

Battlefront - Flames of War - http://www.flamesofwar.com/online_store.aspx

I Ain’t Been Shot, Mum - https://toofatlardies.co.uk/product-category/i-ain%C2%92t-been-shot-mum/

GHQ - http://www.ghqmodels.com/store/military-models-world-war-ii-micro-armour.html

Baccus6mm - https://www.baccus6mm.com/catalogue/WorldWar2/

Sons of the Desert - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/27223/sons-desert

The Men Who Would be Kings - https://ospreypublishing.com/the-men-who-would-be-kings

Congo - http://www.wargamesfoundry.com/congo

Ronin - https://ospreypublishing.com/ronin-skirmish-wargames-in-the-age-of-the-samurai

Clan War - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/13584/clan-war

Tomorrow’s War - https://www.amazon.com/Tomorrows-Science-Fiction-Wargaming-Rules/dp/1849085315

StarGrunt II - https://shop.groundzerogames.co.uk/rules.html

Imperial Assault - https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/star-wars-imperial-assault/

PrePaint Star Wars - http://www.popularcollections.com/stwami.html

West End Games Star Wars d6 RPG and miniatures - http://www.starwars.com/news/the-big-impact-of-west-end-games-star-wars-miniatures

Warhammer Ancient Battles - https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/8003/warhammer-ancient-battles

Swordpoint - http://www.grippingbeast.co.uk/SWORDPOINT_Rulebook--product--5402.html

L’Art de Guerre - http://www.madaxeman.com/L_Art_de_la_Guerre_page.php

Lion Rampant - https://ospreypublishing.com/lion-rampant-medieval-wargaming-rules

Sword and Spear - http://polkovnik.moonfruit.com/sword-spear/4583102656

Perry Miniatures - https://www.perry-miniatures.com/index.php?cPath=23_33

Space Hulk - https://www.games-workshop.com/en-US/Space-Hulk-2016

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics - http://www.gmtgames.com/p-576-commands-colors-napoleonics-3rd-printing.aspx

Blucher - http://www.sammustafa.com/honour/modules-games/blucher/

Commands & Colors: Tricorne - http://compassgames.com/index.php/preorders/commands-colors-tricorne-the-american-revolution.html

Xwing Miniatures - http://www.aresgames.eu/games/sails-of-glory-line

Sails of Glory - http://www.aresgames.eu/games/sails-of-glory-line

BenSound.com “Rumble” http://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-music/track/rumble

BenSound.com “Actionable” http://www.bensound.com/royalty-free-music/track/actionable

3 comments:

  1. You can't handle the truth Dave ;)

    Re-post from Facebook:
    Fury is still a comic book movie rather than a war movie, same with Inglorious Basterds. As such it has a lot of action and the town scene was one of the better depictions of the impact of battle on soldiers and civilians alike (almost as good as Stalingrad).

    I just can't get over the "Normandy Drift" Tiger battle and the Utterly Inept SS in the night battle. Though reflecting on it, there are a few shots here that could have been drawn from Eisenstein's depiction of Teutonic knights in Alexander Nevsky so kudos there.

    Now as a game Fury would work with a player running Fury vs a GM running the Nazi hordes, an armoured Rorke's Drift if you will. I might flip it to have the Tiger show up as a boss level after the infantry assault. The Lardie's What A Tanker! rules might work well.

    I may re-watch Fury - it took 3 viewings to come to terms with Basterds.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great podcast and I definitely agree with Aliens (the Prodos Games Alien figures are superb, their Marines less so. Would agree with EM4 as a better alternative). I would cheat and nominate the Lord of the Rings trilogy as in each film you get great inspiration for gaming - huge set-piece battles (Two Towers, Pelennor Fields), smaller skirmish (the Breaking of the Fellowship) and who doesn't like the idea of taking on a winged demon made of fire and smoke?

    Other movies that I have got inspiration from - Oblivion, 13 Hours, Blackhawk Down, Lone Survivor, Green Zone, Heat, and The Mummy (hope that pleases Dave!)

    Keep the good stuff coming!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks again. Yes, the Grenadier/eM4 figures are great.

    Heat would make for a great heist game! Love that movie.

    ReplyDelete